Don’t be the Print of Someone Else’s Painting

(WARNING – This may not be the “normal” blog post that you’ve become accustomed to reading.)

Please look at the picture below for five seconds before you continue reading.

Why in the world did I ask you to look at that picture? Hang tight.

Originality – (noun) / the quality or state of being original / freshness of aspect, design, or style / the power of independent thought or constructive imagination

I want to talk about the root of something that has been on my heart lately. There is a reason why I started with a warning. I want you to feel something different in today’s post. I want you to feel your mind dream again and realize that the only thing that separates you from everyone else is your originality.

Now, let me be perfectly clear. I’m not telling you to be rebellious or go do something completely irresponsible. I want you think about a simple concept — a simple rule to live by every single day of your life.

What if I told you that Jesus was amazed at a human being. Don’t be so shocked, it’s true. In Luke 7:9, Jesus heard of a man’s faith and was amazed at him. (Luke 7:1-10) I hope you read those ten scriptures for the background of the story, but if you don’t I’ve already told you the simple rule. What did Jesus hear about the man? HIS FAITH. You’re probably thinking to yourself that faith isn’t original at all. It’s been around for thousands of years. Well guess what? Having faith in the impossible is what God wants us to do. Don’t believe me? Check out this ridiculously fantastic scripture, “For I assure you: If you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will tell this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. NOTHING will be impossible for you.(Matthew 17:20)

Having faith is the furthest thing from the norm. Having faith opens your life to endless possibilities filled with God’s promises. Having faith changes your life forever. Having faith brings your originality to life. Having faith gives you the ability to paint your own picture. Stop being the print of someone else’s painting.

Now look at the picture for five seconds and have faith in the impossible.

Have faith, be original, embrace the impossible. God’s with you every step of the way. (Deuteronomy 31:6)

Leave a Reply

